The Agreement on the European Economic Area, which entered into force on 1 January 1994, brings together the 28 EU Member States and the three EEA EFTA States — Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein— in a single market, referred to as the "internal market". The objective of the EEA and Norway Grants is to reduce social and economic disparities in the EEA, and they are intended to put the beneficiary countries (15 EU countries in Central and Southern Europe and the Baltics) in a better position to make use of the internal market.

Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein on 31 October 2017 signed a new cooperation agreement with Greece on new programmes in the programme area 16 “Good governance, Accountable Institutions, Transparency” under the EEA Grants 2014-2021.

In the framework of this cooperation, the Directorate General of Public Organizations of the Ministry of Administrative Reconstruction has been appointed as the Programme Operator for reform projects which are implemented by the Ministry as well as other national authorities.